Cash Advance Clear

Cash advance app · Albert Instant (Instant Advance)

Albert: what it costs and what the record shows

Albert's Instant Advance sends $25 to $1,000 to an Albert Cash account, due six days later and repaid from your Smart money deposits or manually. Albert says no subscription is needed for Instant and there is no interest or late fee on an Instant Advance; moving the money to an outside account costs a fee shown in the app, and Albert also offers Instant as a line of credit with draw fees in some cases.

Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.

Not calculated

Albert's help center describes the Instant advance in two different ways (a no-fee advance, and a line of credit with withdrawal fees and possible late fees whose amounts are not published), so we don't calculate a cost until that is clear. What it does publish is below.

What it is
Cash advance app
Who runs it
Albert Corporation (Albert Cash, LLC for the Albert Cash account; banking by Sutton Bank or Stride Bank, N.A.)
Most you can get
$25-$1,000.1
Monthly membership
Albert's plans are Standard ($19.99/month), Genius ($39.99/month) and Family ($39.99/month). Albert says a subscription is not required for Instant and does not change the amount you are eligible for.2
Instant transfer
An Instant Advance goes to your Albert Cash account instantly at no charge. Sending it on to an outside account within minutes costs an "Instant Advance Transfer Fee" that Albert shows in the app before the transfer and collects at repayment; the amount is not published. Separately, a fast transfer out of Albert Cash costs the greater of $5.99 or 1.75% of the amount, capped at $25.3
Standard transfer
Free and instant to Albert Cash; moving money from Albert Cash to an outside bank by ACH is free and takes 2-3 business days.
Tips
Albert's Terms of Use and help articles on Instant do not mention tips.3

Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Albert are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.

What you pay

ChargeWhat the company says
MembershipAlbert's plans are Standard ($19.99/month), Genius ($39.99/month) and Family ($39.99/month). Albert says a subscription is not required for Instant and does not change the amount you are eligible for.2
Instant transferAn Instant Advance goes to your Albert Cash account instantly at no charge. Sending it on to an outside account within minutes costs an "Instant Advance Transfer Fee" that Albert shows in the app before the transfer and collects at repayment; the amount is not published. Separately, a fast transfer out of Albert Cash costs the greater of $5.99 or 1.75% of the amount, capped at $25.3
Standard transferFree and instant to Albert Cash; moving money from Albert Cash to an outside bank by ACH is free and takes 2-3 business days.
TipsAlbert's Terms of Use and help articles on Instant do not mention tips.3
Albert Cash fast transferGreater of $5.99 or 1.75% of the transfer, capped at $25, for moving money from Albert Cash to a debit card within minutes.4
Instant line of credit draw feesWhere Albert offers Instant as an unsecured line of credit, "draw fees may apply each time you advance" and late fees may apply if not repaid on time. The fee amounts were not found in the help center.5
Late fees or interestAlbert's Terms say there is no credit check, late fees or interest for an Instant Advance. The Instant line of credit is different: its repayment article says late fees may apply.3

What the marketing says, and what it leaves out

The real cost, worked out

Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.

ExampleYou payPer $100APR
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 daysNot calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 daysNot calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit
$100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 daysNot calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit

How Albert works

  1. Install the Albert app, register and connect your financial accounts.
  2. Open an Albert Cash account, link a debit card (Albert makes and cancels a small test charge) and keep Smart money on the "Automatic" schedule.
  3. On the home screen tap "Advances and loans" and follow the prompts to set up Instant.
  4. Select "Albert Advance", choose an amount up to your limit, and send it to Albert Cash (instant and free).
  5. Repay within 6 days through Smart money deposits or a manual payment; an extension of up to 7 days can be requested in the app.

Steps summarized from Albert Help: What are cash advances?7.

How it is paid back

Instant Advances are due 6 days after you take them, and you can ask in the app for an extension of up to 7 days. They are repaid from Smart money deposits (which pull money from your linked bank account) or by manual payment, and Albert may set off balances from your other Albert accounts. If repaid late, access to new advances can be suspended for 30 to 90 days or more. The advance is non-recourse: Albert says it will not use debt collection or report to credit bureaus.6

Which banks it works with

Only what Albert’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.

Bank or accountStatusWhat the app says
ChimeNot stated by the app—
Cash AppNot stated by the app—
VaroNot stated by the app—
CurrentNot stated by the app—
ChaseNot stated by the app—
Wells FargoNot stated by the app—
Bank of AmericaNot stated by the app—
Capital OneNot stated by the app—

State licenses and registrations

We did not find Albert on any of the official provider lists we checked.

Not found on the official lists of: Indiana, Missouri, South Carolina, Utah. Not being on a list can have several explanations (the law may not cover this kind of product, or the provider may operate under another name or license); check with the state regulator if it matters to you.

Official record

We found no enforcement actions or lawsuits against Albert in the sources we searched.

Searched: FTC legal library; CFPB enforcement actions; State attorney general press releases (via government index search); No government enforcement record found as of 2026-10-18. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.

Cheaper ways to cover a gap

Details and official links for each option

What we could not confirm

Sources

  1. Albert Help: How do I qualify for cash advances?
  2. Albert Help: How much does Albert cost?
  3. Albert's Terms of Use (last updated October 15, 2026)
  4. Albert Help: What are fast transfers?
  5. Albert Help: What is Albert Instant?
  6. Albert Help: How do I repay cash advances?
  7. Albert Help: What are cash advances?
  8. Albert Help: How does Instant advance repayment work?
  9. Albert Help: Getting set up
  10. Albert Help: External overdraft reimbursement policy

All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? [email protected]