Cash Advance Clear

Cash advance app

Cleo: what it costs and what the record shows

Cleo is a budgeting chat app that offers cash advances of $20 to $250 ($20 to $100 for first-time users), repaid automatically on a date 3 to 14 days later. Cleo says advances come with a Plus, Pro or Builder subscription (or by emailing support), standard delivery is free, and same-day delivery costs a fee of up to $14.99.

Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.

Not calculated

Cleo does not publish every fee we would need to price a $100 advance, so we don’t show an APR. What it does publish is below.

What it is
Cash advance app
Who runs it
Cleo AI, Inc. (the App Store listing names the seller as Cleo AI Ltd)
Most you can get
$20-$250 ($20-$100 for first-time users).1
Monthly membership
Cleo says the simplest way to get an advance is to subscribe to Plus, Pro or Builder; you can instead ask for an advance without subscribing by emailing [email protected] (normal eligibility checks still apply). Subscription prices were not checked from an official page.2
Instant transfer
Optional same-day delivery for an express fee of $4.49-$14.99 depending on the amount (Cleo FAQ, Aug 10, 2026; the App Store disclosure says $3.99-$14.99). The fee is paid with the repayment. Cleo does not publish the fee for each amount.2
Standard transfer
Free; arrives in 3-4 days.
Tips
Cleo's FAQ says the only extra amount you might pay on top of an advance is the express fee; it does not mention tips.3

Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Cleo are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.

What you pay

ChargeWhat the company says
MembershipCleo says the simplest way to get an advance is to subscribe to Plus, Pro or Builder; you can instead ask for an advance without subscribing by emailing [email protected] (normal eligibility checks still apply). Subscription prices were not checked from an official page.2
Instant transferOptional same-day delivery for an express fee of $4.49-$14.99 depending on the amount (Cleo FAQ, Aug 10, 2026; the App Store disclosure says $3.99-$14.99). The fee is paid with the repayment. Cleo does not publish the fee for each amount.2
Standard transferFree; arrives in 3-4 days.
TipsCleo's FAQ says the only extra amount you might pay on top of an advance is the express fee; it does not mention tips.3
Late fees or interestCleo says you will never pay interest on a cash advance, and its App Store disclosure lists no late fees.3

What the marketing says, and what it leaves out

The real cost, worked out

Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.

ExampleYou payPer $100APR
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 daysNot calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 daysNot calculated: fee not published or amount above the limit
$100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days$0$00%

How Cleo works

  1. Download Cleo and connect your bank account so Cleo can see your income.
  2. Subscribe to Plus, Pro or Builder, or email [email protected] to ask for an advance without a subscription.
  3. Open Request (previously Borrow) to see how much you qualify for.
  4. Choose the amount and a repayment date 3 to 14 days away.
  5. Choose same-day delivery (express fee) or free standard delivery (3-4 days).
  6. Cleo debits your connected account or card on the repayment date.

Steps summarized from Cleo FAQ: How do I request a cash advance? (Aug 10, 2026)2.

How it is paid back

Cleo takes the money automatically from your connected card or account on the repayment date you chose (3 to 14 days after the advance). If a payment fails for insufficient funds, Cleo either collects smaller partial amounts over the following days (if you opted in to Partial Repayments) or keeps trying for the full amount while your debit authorization is active. You may be able to extend the date in the app.4

Which banks it works with

Only what Cleo’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.

Bank or accountStatusWhat the app says
ChimeNot stated by the app—
Cash AppNot stated by the app—
VaroNot stated by the app—
CurrentNot stated by the app—
ChaseNot stated by the app—
Wells FargoNot stated by the app—
Bank of AmericaNot stated by the app—
Capital OneNot stated by the app—

State licenses and registrations

Official record

Searched: FTC legal library; CFPB enforcement actions; State attorney general press releases (via government index search); CourtListener federal dockets. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.

Cheaper ways to cover a gap

Details and official links for each option

What we could not confirm

Sources

  1. Cleo AI: Cash Advance & Budget, Apple App Store listing (legal disclosures)
  2. Cleo FAQ: How do I request a cash advance? (Aug 10, 2026)
  3. Cleo FAQ: Will I pay interest on my cash advance?
  4. Cleo FAQ: How do I repay my cash advance?
  5. FTC case page: Cleo AI, Inc., FTC v.

All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? [email protected]