Cash Advance Clear

Cash advance app · Cash Out

EarnIn: what it costs and what the record shows

EarnIn lets people with a regular direct-deposit paycheck take part of their pay before payday (Cash Out), and it takes the money back from the linked bank account on payday. There is no membership fee; standard delivery is free, instant "Lightning Speed" delivery costs $3.99 to $8.99 per transfer in most states, and the app asks for an optional tip.

Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.

312%APR

$5.99 to use $100 for 7 days with instant transfer, no tip. Your cost depends on the amount, the days and the options you pick: try your numbers.

What it is
Cash advance app
Who runs it
Activehours, Inc. d/b/a EarnIn (NMLS #2535570)
Most you can get
Up to $1,000 per pay period; Daily Max up to $200 (New York $100, Maryland $150).1
Monthly membership
None
Instant transfer
Lightning Speed (arrives within 30 minutes) for Cash Out: $3.99 for transfers of $75 or less, $5.99 for $75.01-$150, $8.99 above $150. The fee is debited on payday with the repayment. Different tables apply in Indiana and Florida (5% with a $3.99 minimum), New York ($3.99 up to $100, $5.99 above), and Colorado and Wisconsin (no tips; $4.99 / $6.99 / $9.99 by amount).2
Standard transfer
Free; 1-2 business days per the help center (the Cash Out page says 1-3 business days).
Tips
The app offers an optional tip on each Cash Out. EarnIn's agreement says paying or not paying a tip does not affect eligibility or the Cash Out size, tips are debited with the repayment, and EarnIn will refund a tip if asked within 30 days of repayment. Tipping is not available for Cash Out in Colorado and Wisconsin. EarnIn does not publish default tip amounts; the DC Attorney General's complaint alleges defaults between $1 and $14 per transaction (an allegation).3

Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for EarnIn are below, each with its source. You sign up yourself; the app estimates your pay from your bank account and takes the advance back on payday.

What you pay

ChargeWhat the company says
Instant transferLightning Speed (arrives within 30 minutes) for Cash Out: $3.99 for transfers of $75 or less, $5.99 for $75.01-$150, $8.99 above $150. The fee is debited on payday with the repayment. Different tables apply in Indiana and Florida (5% with a $3.99 minimum), New York ($3.99 up to $100, $5.99 above), and Colorado and Wisconsin (no tips; $4.99 / $6.99 / $9.99 by amount).2
$0–$75: $3.99$75.01–$150: $5.99$150.01+: $8.99
Standard transferFree; 1-2 business days per the help center (the Cash Out page says 1-3 business days).
TipsThe app offers an optional tip on each Cash Out. EarnIn's agreement says paying or not paying a tip does not affect eligibility or the Cash Out size, tips are debited with the repayment, and EarnIn will refund a tip if asked within 30 days of repayment. Tipping is not available for Cash Out in Colorado and Wisconsin. EarnIn does not publish default tip amounts; the DC Attorney General's complaint alleges defaults between $1 and $14 per transaction (an allegation).3
Cash Out Link service fee$1.99 per Cash Out Link transfer (a separate route that uses a bank-provided overdraft account from Lead Bank).2
Early Pay$2.99 per expedited paycheck for Early Pay (a separate paycheck feature, not Cash Out).2
Bank feesEarnIn's help center says customers are responsible for bank fees caused by insufficient funds when EarnIn debits a repayment, though support can review whether fees can be refunded.4
Late fees or interestNo interest and no credit check per EarnIn's product page. The Cash Out User Agreement says no fees are required except optional Lightning Speed fees, and that there is no obligation to repay; it does not list late fees.3

What the marketing says, and what it leaves out

The real cost, worked out

Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.

ExampleYou payPer $100APR
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days$5.99$5.99312%
$100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days$5.99$5.99156%
$100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days$0$00%

How EarnIn works

  1. You need a steady payday, a checking account (not prepaid or savings) and a smartphone; Cash Out is not available in every state (for example, not in Connecticut).
  2. Sign up and link the checking account where your pay is deposited.
  3. Verify your income, for example with a work email or work location (GPS), so EarnIn can learn your pay schedule.
  4. Choose an amount within your Daily Max and Pay Period Max; the app offers an optional tip.
  5. Pick Lightning Speed (fee, within 30 minutes) or standard speed (free, 1-2 business days).
  6. On payday EarnIn debits the amount, plus any tip and fee, from your bank account.

Steps summarized from EarnIn Help: How does the app work?6.

How it is paid back

On payday EarnIn automatically debits the linked bank account for the amount transferred plus any tips and fees. You can ask support to reschedule by 8 a.m. PT at least one business day before the debit. If a Cash Out is not repaid, EarnIn blocks further Cash Outs until it is paid, but its agreement says it will not use debt collection, sell the debt or report to credit bureaus.5

Which banks it works with

Only what EarnIn’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.

Bank or accountStatusWhat the app says
ChimeNot stated by the app“we are allowing a small test group of people who bank with Chime to use EarnIn”7
Cash AppNot stated by the app—
VaroOfficial source says no“Here are some of the banks and pay cards that EarnIn doesn't support: ... Varo Bank”8
CurrentOfficial source says no“Here are some of the banks and pay cards that EarnIn doesn't support: ... Current”8
ChaseNot stated by the app—
Wells FargoNot stated by the app—
Bank of AmericaNot stated by the app—
Capital OneNot stated by the app—

State licenses and registrations

Not found on the official lists of: Indiana. Not being on a list can have several explanations (the law may not cover this kind of product, or the provider may operate under another name or license); check with the state regulator if it matters to you.

Official record

Searched: FTC legal library; CFPB enforcement actions; DOJ press releases; State attorney general press releases (via government index search); CourtListener federal dockets. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.

Cheaper ways to cover a gap

Details and official links for each option

What we could not confirm

Sources

  1. EarnIn Help: Understanding your "Max" at EarnIn
  2. EarnIn Lightning Speed fee table (version dated September 8, 2026)
  3. EarnIn Cash Out User Agreement
  4. EarnIn Help: What if I receive an overdraft fee because of the EarnIn app?
  5. EarnIn Help: How do I pay EarnIn back?
  6. EarnIn Help: How does the app work?
  7. EarnIn Help: Does EarnIn support Chime?
  8. EarnIn Help: List of unsupported banks
  9. EarnIn product page: Cash Out
  10. EarnIn Help: How long does it take to get my transfers?
  11. EarnIn Help: Who can use EarnIn?
  12. EarnIn Help: Indiana, Florida and New York residents: Lightning Speed fees
  13. EarnIn Help: How Cash Out and Balance Shield Fees Work in CO and WI
  14. EarnIn Help: Why can't Connecticut residents use EarnIn?
  15. DC Attorney General press release (2024-11-19)
  16. Colorado Attorney General press release (2026-08-27)

All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? [email protected]