Bank account feature · Varo Advance
Varo Advance: what it costs and what the record shows
Varo Advance is a small-dollar line of credit from Varo Bank that deposits a cash advance into your Varo Bank Account, with one flat fee per advance and up to 30 days to repay. Fees run from $1.60 to $100 depending on the amount and on whether you have $800 in monthly deposits to Varo, which cuts the fee by more than half.
Checked against the company’s published terms and official records on 2026-10-18.
$20 to use $100 for 15 days (its earliest repayment date) with its standard advance fee, no tip. Your cost depends on the amount, the days and the options you pick: try your numbers.
- What it is
- Bank account feature
- Who runs it
- Varo Bank, N.A. (Member FDIC)
- Most you can get
- Initial limits $20-$250; up to $700 over time with qualifying direct deposit.1
- Monthly membership
- None
- Instant transfer
- One flat fee per Advance (no separate instant fee; funds go to your Varo Bank Account immediately). Fee without $800 in deposits to Varo this month or last: $20 = $4; $50 = $10; $75 = $15; $100 = $20; $150 = $30; $200 = $40; $250 = $50; $300 = $60; $400 = $80; $500 = $100 (about 20%). With $800+ in deposits: $20 = $1.60; $50 = $4; $75 = $6; $100 = $8; $150 = $12; $200 = $16; $250 = $20; $300 = $24; $400 = $32; $500 = $40; $600 = $48; $700 = $56 (about 8%). Fees waived for covered borrowers under the Military Lending Act. The schedule array holds the without-$800 tier.1
- Standard transfer
- No separate standard option; the advance is deposited to your Varo Bank Account immediately after approval.
- Tips
- No tips are described.2
Whether an app is “legit” comes down to facts you can check: who runs it, what it charges, whether it is licensed or registered where a state requires it, and what regulators and courts have said about it. Those facts for Varo Advance are below, each with its source. A feature of a bank or payment account; you need that account (and usually direct deposit into it).
What you pay
| Charge | What the company says |
|---|---|
| Instant transfer | One flat fee per Advance (no separate instant fee; funds go to your Varo Bank Account immediately). Fee without $800 in deposits to Varo this month or last: $20 = $4; $50 = $10; $75 = $15; $100 = $20; $150 = $30; $200 = $40; $250 = $50; $300 = $60; $400 = $80; $500 = $100 (about 20%). With $800+ in deposits: $20 = $1.60; $50 = $4; $75 = $6; $100 = $8; $150 = $12; $200 = $16; $250 = $20; $300 = $24; $400 = $32; $500 = $40; $600 = $48; $700 = $56 (about 8%). Fees waived for covered borrowers under the Military Lending Act. The schedule array holds the without-$800 tier.1 $20–$20: $4$50–$50: $10$75–$75: $15$100–$100: $20$150–$150: $30$200–$200: $40$250–$250: $50$300–$300: $60$400–$400: $80$500–$500: $100 |
| Standard transfer | No separate standard option; the advance is deposited to your Varo Bank Account immediately after approval. |
| Tips | No tips are described.2 |
| Loan terms | APR: 0.00% APR stated in the Advance Account Agreement (the per-advance flat fee is charged separately); Varo does not publish an APR that includes the fee.. Open-end line of credit; one advance at a time; choose an autopay date 15-30 days after the advance; final due date is 30 days from the advance and cannot be changed. No state restrictions found on the pages checked.4 |
| Lower fee tier with $800+ deposits | Customers with $800 in deposits to Varo this month or last pay about 8% of the advance ($1.60 for $20 up to $56 for $700) instead of about 20%.1 |
| No subscription or late fees | Help center: no monthly service, subscription, late, or penalty fees.2 |
| Late fees or interest | No interest (agreement APR for Varo Advances: 0.00%) and no late fees. If not repaid by the 30-day final due date, any balance is deducted from incoming deposits to your Varo accounts or linked external account until repaid, and you may lose eligibility. Varo's footnote says negative repayment history may impact credit; the agreement allows default remedies including collection.3 |
What the marketing says, and what it leaves out
- “No interest" / "One flat fee per advance”: The flat fee is about 20% of the advance without $800 monthly deposits to Varo (e.g., $20 on $100) and about 8% with them (e.g., $8 on $100).
- “No instant transfer fees”: Accurate, but the per-advance fee applies to every advance and only Varo Bank Account holders can use it.
- “Instant Cash Advances Up to $250" / up to $700”: Initial limits are $20-$250; $700 requires qualifying direct deposits and history; Varo's average loan amount is $195.
The real cost, worked out
Same formula as our calculator: total cost ÷ amount × 365 ÷ days. Tips are left at $0 because they are optional; a tip adds to the cost.
| Example | You pay | Per $100 | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 7 days | $20 | $20 | 487% 15 days: earliest allowed |
| $100, instant transfer, repaid in 14 days | $20 | $20 | 487% 15 days: earliest allowed |
| $100, free standard transfer, repaid in 7 days | $20 | $20 | 487% 15 days: earliest allowed |
How Varo Advance works
- Open a Varo Bank Account and meet the qualification requirements.
- Tap the Advance tile in the Varo app to see available amounts and fees.
- Choose an amount and answer a couple of questions to apply.
- If approved, the money is added to your Varo Bank Account immediately.
- Pick an autopay date 15-30 days out, or repay early in the app.
Steps summarized from Varo cash advance page (incl. FAQ and footnotes)3.
Who can get it
Requires a Varo Bank Account that is active, with no Varo account overdrawn, all prior Advances paid on time, and no outstanding advance. You must either set up qualifying direct deposits to Varo ($800+ monthly per the help center) or link an external account with ongoing direct deposits and positive balances for several months. Subject to evaluation of consumer reports and Varo account activity.5
How it is paid back
Choose an autopay date 15-30 days after the advance (excluding weekends and federal holidays) or repay manually in the app. Repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account; if unpaid by the 30-day final due date, Varo deducts the balance from incoming deposits to your authorized accounts.6
Which banks it works with
Only what Varo Advance’s own help center or terms say. “Not stated” means we found no official statement either way, not that it won’t work. Compare all apps by bank.
| Bank or account | Status | What the app says |
|---|---|---|
| Chime | Own account only | “All Varo Advance repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account.”3 |
| Cash App | Own account only | “All Varo Advance repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account.”3 |
| Varo | Own account only | “All Varo Advance repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account.”3 |
| Current | Own account only | “All Varo Advance repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account.”3 |
| Chase | Own account only | “All Varo Advance repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account.”3 |
| Wells Fargo | Own account only | “All Varo Advance repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account.”3 |
| Bank of America | Own account only | “All Varo Advance repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account.”3 |
| Capital One | Own account only | “All Varo Advance repayments are made from your Varo Bank Account.”3 |
State licenses and registrations
We did not find Varo Advance on any of the official provider lists we checked.
Not found on the official lists of: Indiana, Missouri, South Carolina, Utah. Not being on a list can have several explanations (the law may not cover this kind of product, or the provider may operate under another name or license); check with the state regulator if it matters to you.
Official record
We found no enforcement actions or lawsuits against Varo Advance in the sources we searched.
Searched: CFPB enforcement actions (consumerfinance.gov): no Varo action found; FTC: no Varo action found; OCC enforcement actions: only a 2024 order of prohibition against a former Varo employee (individual misconduct; not about Varo Advance), not recorded; Federal Reserve (2020 Varo Money holding company approval; not an enforcement record); Government index queries 'Varo Bank N.A. enforcement action', 'Varo Advance cash advance Varo Money', 2026-10-18. A complaint or lawsuit contains allegations; it is not a finding unless a court or agency says so.
Cheaper ways to cover a gap
- Ask your employer whether it offers pay advances through payroll, and what they cost you.
- Federal credit union payday alternative loans (PALs) are capped at 28% APR.
- Ask the bill’s company (utility, landlord, lender) for a payment plan or a few days’ extension.
- Call or text 211 for local emergency help with rent, utilities and food.
Details and official links for each option
What we could not confirm
- Varo's structured page data still lists "$1.60-$40 flat fee", while the current fee disclosure and footnotes say $1.60-$100; the fee disclosure (Updated September 2026) is treated as current.
- No statement found on whether Varo Advance is unavailable in any state.
- Whether Varo reports Varo Advance to credit bureaus is not stated directly; the footnote says negative repayment history may impact credit.
Sources
- Varo Bank Fee Disclosure (Updated September 2026)
- Varo Help: Varo Advance Fees
- Varo cash advance page (incl. FAQ and footnotes)
- Varo Advance Account Agreement & Disclosures (effective October 6, 2026)
- Varo Help: Varo Advance Overview
- Varo Help: Varo Advance Payments
- Varo Help: Varo Advance Borrowing Limits
All checked 2026-10-18. Fees change; the company’s current terms are the ones that count. Spotted a change? [email protected]